"Major changes, you say?"
     Why, yes. On the one hand, they're really not that big. On the other, they could prove to be a pain in my rear end and are hopefully going to bring on bigger changes. The lateness aspect of this entry is just that there hasn't been one in a while, which I'm currently remedying. Maybe it was a little irrelevant. Moving on.
     Designing the website this summer was, as rewarding a project as it continues to be, a bit of a chore. It was mainly a chore because I had to motivate myself to do research and writing reminiscent of the essays I had just barely been freed of for a few short months and nobody to remind me that it wasn't actually an essay. There wasn't anyone at that point sharing in my excitement, editing over my shoulder or offering creative ideas. There wasn't even anyone keeping me company. To the credit of anyone who would have, it would likely have kept me from doing any work.
     The finishing touch was naming the site. It felt important. It had to be a catchy name so that people would remember it. It should have been something that could appeal to anybody, regardless of any number of factors. When the name "oneteenvscoke" came into mind, I tossed it around with my mom and a couple of friends. Unanimously, it caught attention but didn't seem misleading or sensationalist (as opposed to an earlier idea, "COCA-COLA-KILLS-EVERYONE!!!!11!11!!!!one1!!!111!!1"). Because I was the only person who had worked on the website, done the research and launched this project, the name was also an adequate representation of what the whole thing was. It fit the bill in every respect and so it was chosen.
     This summer I was a lone high school student slaving over a laptop in the merciless heat that didn't happen in Portland this year, but that's no longer anywhere near the story. With over 300 members to date in cities across the globe, this isn't just about me anymore. I'm one in a growing number who has decided to take it upon themselves and shout a rallying cry, not just one. This boycott isn't exclusive. An inclusive movement is the only way we can be successful, taking all the time and creative energy those involved are willing to commit. OneTeen served its purpose, but it's time for a new name.

     Truth be told, I don't have one yet. There are a few options that I'm deliberating between and am still coming up with small changes to all of them on a regular basis. That's procrastinator's speak for "I haven't had time to sit down and concentrate on it and the most progress I've made was as the teacher struggled to reign in a rowdy math class earlier today", so feel free to start up a thread on the facebook page's discussion tab with some names you could get behind. I'll probably chime in with my thoughts.
     Also, while OneTeen is preparing to pass the torch to the new name, whatever its form may be, I don't think it's going to disappear entirely. The website will change but the blog won't, that's likely if not certain. Frankly, I'll probably figure that out when I actually begin renaming stuff. That's all I've got and am too tired and overloaded for an original remark, so, uh, good night and good luck, boycotters.

9/27/2012 11:04:39 am

Great info, thanks

Reply



Leave a Reply.